Right here in this place and time

Today on Twitter the Druid Network asked, “Do you think Druids are taken seriously? Why or why not?” Not many people seem to have replied, which might indicate that no one took the question very seriously. But I’ve been thinking about the question all day, and along the way it shapeshifted into other questions: Do I take myself seriously, as a Druid? Do I take *my* Druidry seriously? Do I take seriously a path which has called to me persistently for the last twenty-odd years?

I think the answers to those questions, unfortunately, must be “No.” I have not taken Druidry, or myself, or my druid practice, anywhere near seriously. If I had, I doubt I would have vacillated so much over the years, looking for alternatives.

What would it look like for me to take Druidry seriously? to take myself seriously, as a Druid? What would it look like and feel like to live as a druid in a 21st-century, urban, North American environment, on the east coast of the continent, in the Chesapeake Bay watershed? What would it be like to do everything I could to contact the wisdom of the Druid tradition and apply it to the life I am living right now?

I don’t know–but I’m going to find out.

One thought on “Right here in this place and time

Leave a Reply

